Date: Thursday, May 26, 2005
Time: 3:30 PM ET / 2:30 PM CT / 1:30 PM MT / 12:30 PM PT

[Prevailing Time] Presenter(s): Susan Sweetser, MassMutual Financial Group

Course Description

The "Never Kissed a Frog, Never Had To" program outlines the basics of personal financial planning. The focus of this informative and entertaining seminar is to provide CPAs with the knowledge necessary to provide their clients with an understanding of the next steps they will need to take to make progress towards their financial goals. Topics to be covered include how to explain to your clients the need for developing an investment portfolio, how to develop a protection plan, information on estate planning, and the financial implications of marriage and divorce. Become more informed in this specialized area so that you can better serve your clients while gaining insight and knowledge to further your career.

Presenter Bio(s)

Susan is 2nd Vice President of the Women’s Initiative for MassMutual and is an attorney by trade. Prior to joining MassMutual, Susan was Vice President of Advanced Sales for National Life Insurance Company, having spent 12 years at National Life. She is a member of both the New York and Vermont bar associations (she has section memberships in the Elder Care Section, the Trusts and Estate Planning Section and the Tax Section), is an adjunct professor of Business Law at St. Michael’s College and is a former member of the University of Vermont School of Business Advisory Committee. Susan is a much sought after speaker on estate, business, retirement and tax planning issues.

In 1997, Susan was a regular guest commentator for Vermont Public Radio. She was the 1992 recipient of the Vermont Federation of Republican Women “Woman of the Year” Award, recognized as a “Woman Who Makes a Difference” by Family Circle Magazine in February 1992, recipient of 1991 American Heroine recognition by Ladies Home Journal magazine, and in 1980 was the youngest person in the history of the Republican National Convention to give a seconding speech for a presidential candidate.

She is Working Mother Magazine’s 1998 Working Mother of the Year and spent two years lecturing around the country on balancing family and career, gender equity in the workplace, financial planning for women and increasing the number of women on corporate boards. Susan is married to David
Sands and resides in Essex, Vermont, with her three daughters, three dogs and a cat.